The Ballyboden Minor girls hosted Clontarf in this year’s much anticipated Division 1 Football Championship final on Saturday 7th October in Pairc Uí Mhurchú. The Ballyboden girls, who beat Na Fianna by a single point in a thrilling semi-final, were chasing an impressive 3rd Minor Football Championship title in a row. They were up against a strong Clontarf side, who are current Division 1 League winners and a side who defeated the Boden girls earlier this year by 2 points.

Both teams took to the field in unusually warm and dry conditions for October. The large crowd that had assembled to support the teams were treated to a highly competitive game where both teams settled quickly after throw-in and worked tirelessly to win and retain possession. Both defences remained steadfast, forcing some well taken scores from well outside the 20metre line and the teams were level with 4 points each after 20 minutes of play. Crucially it was the hosts who took charge over the following few minutes, registering a further 4 points before Clontarf managed their next score just before the half time whistle.

The Ballyboden girls kept the momentum going into the 2nd half and found the Clontarf net within minutes of the restart putting a bit of daylight between the teams. However, credit to Clontarf, not to be pushed aside, they responded a few short minutes later by finding the Boden net bringing the game back to 4 points, much to the delight of the onlooking crowd now in full voice urging both teams on as the minutes passed by. Clontarf managed a further point from play a few minutes later however the Ballyboden girls once again took control of the game through some wonderful defending and good phases of possession to convert a further 3 points that extended their lead to 6points before the final whistle. 

There were great scenes of celebration in the Boden camp when the final whistle sounded and full credit to both teams for a high standard of competitive football, befitting any Division 1 Championship final.

Ballyboden St Enda’s have now secured 3 Minor Football Championship titles in-a-row, certainly not a mean feat and huge congratulations to all the girls and to the management team.

Scorers: Emma Moran 1:07 (4f) Karrie Rudden 0:03 Maggie Donaghy 0:02

Team: Back row L to R: Olivia O’Brien, Karrie Rudden, Ruby Hynes, Amy Brennan, Aisling Quinn, Isabelle Morris, Cara Cosgrove, Lauren Heavey, Emma Fogarty, Rachel Heavey, Jenny Maguire (c), Heather Bolger, Emma Moran (c).

Front row L to R: Maggie Donaghy, Rachel Vaughan, Áine Corser, Edel Mc Creery , Ellen Sweeney, Ailbhe Christie, Sarah Kelly, Ruby Murphy, Millie Larkin (not pictured)