Senior B Team Promoted to AHL 2 – An Fear Cliste Reports – Photos by Clíona

 Ballyboden St Endas 1  26   Parnells 0  13

In what has been a very tough and challenging league campaign , our Senior B hurling team emerged as champions winning 10 out of 11 league matches. In what was a lovely gesture, the Chairman of the Dublin Hurling Board, along with Mrs Murphy presented the Jim Murphy memorial trophy to our team captain Fionn Maguire when the game concluded against Parnells. In this the 50th anniversary of the foundation of our club, it is wonderful that the club has won silverware to mark the occasion, and hopefully for other teams, in all codes, we will see even more success this year.

As expected with Parnells fighting against relegation, it was a very tough 1st half and we were fortunate to led by 4 points at the interval on the scoreline of 11 points to 7, as Parnells hit a few poor wides.

However on the resumption of play in the 2nd half, the determination of our team to push forward, together with our greater degree of skill & fitness , resulted in the players pulling away and recording a comfortable victory.

All the team players fought with great tenacity throughout the game, but none more so than Jamie Desmond who was a stalwart in his role at centre half back. It was great to see players like Jonathan O’Driscoll, Keith McCarron & Ben Kelly returning to the squad after being absent due to extended periods abroad. As we were short a number of regulars as well, due to injury, a special thanks must go to Eoin McKenna, Danial Nugent and Kevin Lalor (all from the Junior A team) for their contribution.

The only downside to our victory yesterday was that James Enright (who had a fine game) suffered a nasty head injury and was taken to Beaumont hospital. Happily though he has recovered and will be fit again soon to resume playing. A special thanks also must go to Collie O’Neill , who had a fine league campaign, but will be taking up an appointment in Brussels, next week, for the foreseeable future.

Our celebrations are now over, as we prepare for the upcoming championship campaign. C’mon Boden !


Mark Lambert    0 – 9  Shane Kennedy   0 – 4  Conor O’Donoghue   0 – 3   James Enright    0 – 3 Eoin McKenna   1 – 0 Keith McCarron    0 – 2 Jonathan O’Driscoll   0 – 1  Fionn Maguire     0 – 1 Collie O’Neill   0 – 1  Kevin Lalor      0 – 1  Ben Kelly    0 – 1

Well done to our Senior B Hurlers and management team on winning the Div 3 League, which they had under their belt before travelling to Coolock last evening.BBSE 1:26 Parnells 0:13Photos by Cliona Mellett

Posted by BodenGAA on Sunday, August 25, 2019