Go Ahead AHL 6

Ballyboden St Enda’s 4  12     Civil Service 1  15.

The Junior B team kept their great start to the season on track with their third win on the trot to go top of Division 6.  However, it was far from plain sailing at a sun drenched Ballycullen on Sunday morning. With 10 minutes to go Civil Service stormed into a one-point lead with a well taken goal.  At this stage it looked like a case of déjà vu as in the corresponding fixture last year Civil Service came from a 7-point half time deficit to win by a point.

At half time in the 2022 edition the home side held a 6-point lead.  As the teams traded ends for the second half Civil Service chipped relentlessly away at that lead.  Suddenly, the visitors dominated from their half back line up and the fresh breeze meant that any Boden puck outs were landing in areas where the Servants were dominant.  The Civil Service centre back,Lorcan O Lubaigh,  was the dominant force which the home side could not subdue throughout the game.  To Bodens credit the team found a way to eke out a victory in those last 10 minutes.

The siege was lifted when a speculative shot from wing back Micheál Manning found the net.  Indeed, this was Manning’s second major as he out smarted the opposition keeper in the first half with another speculative lob. A succession of fine points from Liam Duffy, Eoghan Duignan and Denis Callanan closed out the contest.  The dominant finished book marked this victory as 2 quick fire goals in the second and third minutes from Brian Cummins and Aidan Dundon set up Ballyboden’s dominance in that first half.

Boden now go out to Finglas in 2 weeks’ time to take on Erin’s Isle as joint table toppers with St. Oliver Plunkett’s ER.

Team:  Marc MacLiam, Kevin Brady, Oisin Cannon, Mark McGovern, Alan McGovern, Darren Lennox, Micheál Manning 2-0, Jonathan O’Donoghue, Liam Duffy 0-3, Ben Hurley 0-1, Morgan Ryan 0-1, Eoghan Deignan 0-2, Adam Fischer 0-1, Aidan Dundon 1-0, Brian Cummins 1-1, Jack Kenny 0-1, Denis Callanan 0-2, Andy Lyons, John Murray, Timmy Cleary, Ross McCormack, Martin Mulligan Lynch