Junior C team reach summit with fine win over Faughs

Ballyboden St Enda’s 1 15 Faughs 0 10

A Halloween feast was served up by the Junior C hurlers at Ballycullen on Sunday where the tricks were provided by Garrett Crowley and the treat is a county final date against Lucan Sarsfields in two weeks’ time at a venue to be confirmed.  The magnetic midfielder was the scorer of 9 points which went a long way to securing this final spot. However, the stand out score was a side-line puck from all of 30 meters on the left hand touchline in the 42nd minute which had those attending making comparisons to the great Joe Canning.

The hosts got off to the best possible start when Adam Fischer slalomed through the Faughs defence to find the net after only 2 minutes of play.  Crowley slotted over 4 frees in this quarter including a penalty in the 12th minute.  Faughs managed to regain a foothold in the game and by the first water break Ballyboden lead by 1 04 to 0 03.

Faughs controlled the second quarter mainly through the sharp shooting and long range frees from wing forward, Jamie Kennedy, and they went in at the break with a deficit of 3 points, 1 07 to 0 07.

This game was won for Ballyboden in the third quarter as they scored a succession of excellent points.  Crowley’s side-line was undoubtedly the highlight, but a brace of points from energetic captain Seán Lambert off his left hand side gave Boden an unassailable led of 7 points by the second water break.

Faughs tried in vain to reduce the gap in the last 15 minutes when at every opportunity they went for goal.  However, with Marc Mac Liam in goal behind a full back trio of Kevin Brady, Murray Breen and Mattie O’Sullivan there was no way through for the opposition.  All roads now lead to the county final on November 14th.

Team:  Marc MacLiam, Kevin Brady, Murray Breen, Mattie O’Sullivan, Alan McGovern, Rian Cannon, Liam Duffy 0 01, Seán Lambert 0 02, Garrett Crowley 0 09 (6 frees, 1 side line, 1 penalty), Dave Keville, Ciarán Twomey 0 01, Jonathan O’Donoghue, Adam Fischer 1 01, Brian Cummins, Eoghan Deignan 0 01, Conor Barton, Oisin Cannon, Dave Barrett, Aidan Dundon, Ger Keating, Ross McCormack.

Thanks to Clíona Mellett for the photos