Round 5 of of the 2019 Minor Football Division 1 League campaign saw the team travel to St Anne’s Park on Wednesday evening to take on Clontarf. The wet evening meant very heavy traffic crossing the city but the perfect condition of the pitch more than compensated for the weather. Early points from Conor Cullen and Adam Kelleher ensured a bright start for Ballyboden but Clontarf settled quickly and soon equalised with 2 well taken points. Both defences were limiting scoring chances with Jack Lambert, Joey Donohoe and Conor Hanrahan leading by example. Two further points by Adam Kelleher were countered by points for the home team. A very good passing move ended with Robert Cullen finishing to the net for Ballyboden’s first goal. Clontarf closed out the first half scoring with a point to leave the half time score Ballyboden 1.04 to 0.05 for the home team.

Ballyboden started to dominate much of possession early in the second half with Conor Lowe and Robert Cullen winning a good supply at midfield. The floodlights were turned on for the second half as the evening began to close in. Harry Colclough and Eoghan Gannon made an immediate impact when introduced from the bench and Malachy Codd added a well taken point before Pearce Christie finished another passing move to the net for the second goal. Dean Ralph marked his introduction with a well taken point and John McGuire made a welcome return to the team following his recovery from injury.

Clontarf narrowed the gap with some well taken points but Harry Colclough replied with a point for Ballyboden. Cillian Wall and Peter Gannon worked very hard when they came on to ensure that the team maintained the lead with Sean O’Donnell carrying a lot of ball out of defence. A late point from Clontarf closed out the scoring to leave Ballyboden ahead 2.08 to 0.10

The next league match is home to Lucan on Sunday May 5th .

Thanks to the parents and Boden supporters who gave great encouragement to the team on throughout the match and to Miriam Christie for the photos. More here

Congratulations to Ryan O’Dwyer, Harry Colclough, Eoghan Gannon and Hugh O’Sullivan on their championship win with the Dublin minors against Meath this week. We wish the lads and the Dublin team well for the coming months.

Team: Jake Turley, Joey Donohoe, Jack Lambert, Sean O’Donnell, Conor Hanrahan, Patrick Dunleavy, Harry Donaghy, Conor Lowe, Robert Cullen, Conor Cullen, Malachy Codd, Enda Cashman, Eoin Behan, Adam Kelleher, Pearce Christie, Harry Colclough, Eoghan Gannon, Cillian Wall, Peter Gannon, Dean Ralph, John McGuire.