Result: 1-11 to 1-11

Round 4 of of the 2019 Minor Football Division 1 League campaign saw the arrival of the reigning League champions, Kilmacud Crokes, to Pairc Úi Murchu on Sunday morning. The morning was dry and cool with an easterly breeze blowing from the clubhouse end. An early Ballyboden attack resulted in a well taken point by Enda Cashman which was quickly replied to by Kilmacud who had the advantage of the breeze in the first half. Both defences were working very hard to limit any scoring chances with Jack Lambert, Harry Donaghy, Eoghan Gannon and Conor Hanrahan to the fore for the home team. Two well taken points gave Kilmacud the lead before Adam Kelleher replied following good approach play by the forwards. Kilmacud then stretched their lead further before points by Luke Byrne and Enda Cashman reduced the deficit.

A well worked goal by Kilmacud left the half time score 1.6 to 0.5 in favour of the visitors.

Joe Maguire was introduced for the second half and settled quickly into the game as Robert Cullen and Conor Lowe worked very hard in midfield to secure a supply to the Ballyboden forwards. Points were exchanged with Adam Kelleher, Enda Cashman and Harry Colclough on target for the home team but Kilmacud retained their lead. Hugh O’Sullivan in the Ballyboden goal made some excellent saves to deny the Kilmacud forwards a second green flag. Conor Cullen marked his introduction with a well taken point and Dean Ralph and Cian Leahy worked hard as the home team pressed to reduce the deficit. Adam Kelleher converted a free to leave a goal between the teams as the clock ticked into injury time. Ballyboden continued to attack and a high ball into the danger area was flicked on by Patrick Dunleavy and superbly finished to the net by Conor Cullen to level the scores.

The final whistle sounded following the kick out to leave the final score at 1.11 to each side with the league points shared following a hard fought match played at a fast pace throughout. Great credit is due to both teams for the high standard of football played during the game. The next league match is away to Clontarf on Wednesday April 24th at 7pm.

Thanks to the parents and Boden supporters who gave great encouragement to the team throughout the match and to Miriam Christie for the photos. More Here

We wish our injured squad members a speedy return to full fitness.

Team: Hugh O’Sullivan, Joey Donohoe, Jack Lambert, Sean O’Donnell, Eoghan Gannon, Patrick Dunleavy, Harry Donaghy, Conor Lowe, Robert Cullen, Peter Gannon, Enda Cashman, Harry Colclough, Luke Byrne, Adam Kelleher, Cillian Wall, Joe Maguire, Conor Cullen, Conor  Hanrahan, Cian Leahy, Dean Ralph, Pearce Christie, Malachy Codd.