Senior A Championship – Boden progress as Group Winners

BBSE 2 27 Scoil Uí Chonaill 1 07

Wordsworth reports from O’ Toole Park

As we walked across the field to the far side in O’Toole Park, more than one observer commented on the quality of the pitch – looking better than it had in years, with a beautiful cut of grass throughout. Bright sunshine and a stiff breeze were the conditions as the referee threw in the ball for this Group 4 Round 3 tie between Ballyboden St Endas and Scoil Uí Chonaill on 2nd October.

Boden started brightly with the forwards running hard at the Scoil defence. A pair of Niall McMorrow frees either side of a John Maguire goal gave them the perfect start. Further points were added by Conor McKeon and Conal Keaney. Any efforts by the Scoil forwards to breach the Boden defence were repelled, led by Shane Durkin and Dean Curran. The pressure continued and Boden got the second goal with a rasper from Keaney just before the first water break.

Further points followed with McMorrow accurate from the placed ball and a Kevin Desmond effort from distance. On the 20 minute mark Scoil registered their first score when their full forward pulled on a fine sideline puck from the left – a green flag was raised.  Boden kept their shape and further points followed from McMorrow, Keaney and McKeon to leave the half-time score Boden 2-14 to 1-1 ahead.

Scoil started well in the second half and registered the first two scores. Substitute Niall Ryan picked off a nice couple of points following strong running into space This was Scoil’s best quarter however and they added four more points by the second water break. Boden steadied at this point and some good runs from Aidan Mellett, McMorrow and McKeon drew frees. Mc Morrow duly obliged and Boden finished the match strongly to leave the final score Ballyboden St Endas 2-27 Scoil Uí Chonaill 1-7.

That’s the end of the championship road for the Clontarf side while Boden now look forward to a quarter-final against holders Cuala. Boden abú.

Squad : Conor O’Donoghue, Cian Mellett, Dean Curran, Stephen O’Connor, Paddy Dunleavey, Shane Durkin, James Roche, Conal Keaney, David O’Connor, Shane Kennedy, Conor McKeon, Luke McDwyer, Pearce Christie, John Maguire, Niall McMorrow, Finn McGarry, Kevin Desmond, Aidan Mellett, Luke Corcoran, Rob Leddy, James Madden, Sean McDonnell, Niall Ryan, Simon Lambert & Paul Ryan.

Thanks to John Kirwan for the photos