Result: 2-10 to 0-11

It’s always nice to get off to a winning start in the league, especially against one of the top teams in the league, with most of their county players available. The first 3 scores were from frees, two for Ballymun split by a good free from Colm Basquel, in the first 7 minutes. The visitors then took over. Declan O’Mahony levelled matters from play and then, from an excellent pass across the goal mouth by Sean Gibbons, Warren Egan finished to the net. Ross McGarry, Michael Darragh MacAuley and Warren Egan (2) brought the score to 1 – 6 to 0 – 2. Ballymun finally woke up to score from play on 22 minutes but this was cancelled out by a free by Colm Basquel, with less than 5 minutes to go to half time. However, the bad news was that Michael Darragh was shown a red card about five minutes before half time. The half time score 1 – 7 to 0 – 3. The question was, would a 7-point lead be enough for our 14 players to withstand Ballymun pressure in the second half.

As expected Ballymun started with great intent and in the first 15 minutes scored four points (1 free) without reply from Ballyboden, to leave just a goal between the sides. Sean Gibbons settled all our nerves with a good point from play and this was followed five minutes later with a great team goal. Following clearance from the back, Barra McGarry fed Darren O’Reilly who, in turn, fed Colm Basquel. He was coolness personified as he faced down the Ballymun goal keeper, picked his spot and finished to the corner of the net. This brought the lead to 7 points with 10 minutes remaining. As our backs fought for every ball, Ballymun got another point back from play. But as the clock counted down Ballymun managed just two more points from frees but these were in turn cancelled out by points from play by Colm Basquel and Warren Egan, who enjoyed one of his best days in a senior jersey.

So, a well-deserved victory after a hard day in the office, especially with 14 players for all of the second half.

TEAM: Darragh Gogan; Bob Dwan; Shane Clayton; Cathal Flaherty; Kieran Kennedy; James Holland; Robbie McDaid; Aran Waters; Declan O’Mahony; Darren O’Reilly; Colm Basquel; Michael Darragh MacAuley; Ross McGarry; Sean Gibbons; Warren Egan. SUBS USED: Donagh McCabe; Barra McGarry; Brian Bobbett; Tom Hanafin. SUB NOT USED: Luke O’Donoghue.