Under 17A Hurling Championship

BBSE 1 20 Erin’s Isle 1 17

Round 2 of the u17A Hurling championship saw Boden make the journey to Finglas for a difficult assignment against Erin’s Isle. And difficult it most certainly turned out to be!

Despite the pleasant sunny conditions there was quite a stiff breeze which Erin’s Isle played with in the first half. It was a fine contest played at a step up in pace from Round 1.  Isles led 1-11 to 0-10 at HT, with Ryan Culleton scoring some impressive frees for Boden.

The second half was story in itself. Both teams started brightly with Isles stretching their lead before Kevin Byrne scored a smashing goal for Boden. Game on!! With the pressure on Isles, they completely lost their discipline and over the next 15 minutes had 3 players sent off for various offences. Boden kept their cool and kept the scoreboard ticking with several unanswered points to win by 3 in the end.  A close shave but, as the saying goes, a win is a win!

Click here for more photos

Squad: Scott Mc Allister, James Rusk, Liam Dargan, James Casey, Oisin Quinn, Leon Murphy, John McSharry, Sean Keary, Daragh Smyth, Ryan Culleton, Kevin Byrne, Mark Mcglynn, Darragh Delaney, Lee McConnell, Zenan Spain, CJ Balance, Gavin Leddy, Alex Young, Torna McGearrailt, Daragh Durkin, Fionn Murphy, Johnny Corr.


Under 17 B Hurling

BBSE 6 11 Na Fianna 3 05

The Ballyboden Minor B hurling team had their first game of the championship against Na Fianna in Collinstown on Sunday. The team put in a fantastic performance and dominated from start to finish emerging victorious with a score line of 6 11 to 3 05.

From the start, the lads took hold of the game and did not let-up. Early scores from Darragh Kennedy got the team up and running and Boden went into an early lead. There were  plenty of full blooded tackles around the pitch – we gave as good as we got and more in return, which seemed to thrown the opposition a bit. The lads made great use of the ball over the course of the half, opening up the oppositions defence on a number of occasions with goals from Darragh Kennedy, Stephen O Connor and Ciaran Sharkey. There was also a great display of free taking by Sean Luz, Conor Butler and Darragh Kennedy.

Na Fianna replied with two goals of their own in the first half to keep them in it but once the full back line , led by Sean Keogh, got to grips with their danger man the treat was contained. Goalkeeper Adam O’Gorman setup many attacks with his accurate puck out, where the half forward line of Sean Langan, Conor Carton and Ciaran Sharkey along with the mid field of Sean Luz and Conor Butler gave him plenty to aim at. Once secured, the ball was fed inside quickly where the full forward line were causing mayhem. Boden finished the half 5 07 to 2 01.

The second half was where the character of the lads was shown. Now playing against the wind and up the hill, it was the turn of the defence to stand up and they weren’t found lacking. The half back line of Rory Malone, Rian Meaney and Aidan Healy / Joe Rafter had to front up and stop a Na Fianna team that came out fighting. The first 15 minutes of the half saw some monster tackles, fantastic team work and a display of resilience that Na Fianna had no answer to.  Rian Meaney and Conor Butler kept them guessing with some barn storming runs down the middle, picking off some great passes, going from defence to attack. This was a low scoring affair due to the tackling from both side but one of the moments of the match was when Conor Reynolds won the ball and under a lot of pressure, kicked a 10 metre pass to Man of the match, Darragh Kennedy, who did what he was doing all weekend, grabbing goals. The game finished 6-11 to 3-5 and we roll on to our next game in two weeks against Cuala.

Big thanks to the U16 B team for their support as this team can’t operate with them –  7 lads provided and to a man they were well capable.

Team Adam O’Gorman, Jack Doran, Sean Keogh, Alex Brady, Rory Malone, Rian Meaney, Aidan Healy, Sean Luz, Conor Butler, Conor Carton, Ciaran Sharkey, Sean Langan, Conor Reynolds, Darragh Kennedy, Stephen O’Connor, Miko O’Byrne, Joe Rafter, Ronan O’Breartuin