Boden Junior D’s celebrates the end of Seachtain na Gaeilge with a fine win over Na Gaeil Óga in Sancta Maria on Sunday Afternoon. Boden started well with Myles O’Sullivan scoring a fine point. More Boden pressure on Na Gaeil Óga resulted in Reed Barry get his first point of the day. Then before you could say ‘Seanabhean is ea mise anois go bhfuil cos léi insan uaigh is an chos eile ar a bruach…’ Na Gaeil Óga took the lead with a goal, which found the back of the net despite a series of brilliant saves from Jack Finn who was excellent in goal today. Another goal and two points were scored by our visitors without reply and Boden found themselves 0-2 to 2-2 down.
There was some great defending from Boden with Mick McDonald, Dara Kelly, Shane McDonnell all battling away before Tom Dunne finished well to the back of the net to leave Boden 1-2 to 2-2 down at Half Time.
After a Half Time Chat Boden bolted out, fired a few wides before Na Gaeil Óga narrowed the gap to two points with a score. Then Boden got into gear. The half back line of James Kinsella, Fergus Tighe and Alex Brady just took over and Daniel O’Riordan and Tom Dunne were doing great running and tackling. A point from Aidan Dundon stretched the lead out to three points before Tom Dunne got his second goal of the day. Andy Lennon was causing huge problems with his pace, ability to find space and some excellent kick passing, Ron Kelliher was linking the whole attack with some great distribution. Aido knocked over another point before Reed Barry got really into the grove turning this way and that way, leaving defenders for dead as he put over Bodens next three points without reply. Then Myles , who had been excellent playing with one boot taped together, put the icing on the cake with a fantastic finish to the back of the net.
Late on the tireless Gearóid Ó hÉalaithe and Cathal Regan both came close before our opponents scored the final point of the match.
Final Score Boden 3-7 Na Gaeil Óga 2-4
Some pics from Miriam Doyle here
Team: Dara Kelly, Fergus Tighe , Aidan Dundon (0-2) , Ron Kelliher, Mick McDonald, Cathal Regan, Jack Finn ,Tom Dunne (2-0) , Gearóid Ó hÉalaithe, James Kinsella, Reed Barry (0-4), Daniel O’Riordan, Alex Brady, Myles O’Sullivan (1-1), Andy Lennon, Shane McDonnell,