Scorers Ballyboden:  Dylan Dunleavey 1 – 2,  Enda Cashman 0 – 2, Luke McDwyer 0 – 2, John McGinn 0 – 3 ( 2f ), Ciaran O Reilly 0 – 2 ( 1f ),  Aidan Garvey 0 – 1, Kevin Desmond 0 – 1.

On a cloudy humid day in Marley Park last Saturday, 7th May,  Ballyboden U16 Footballers qualified for the Dublin Championship ‘A’ Final in a pulsating game against a fine Ballinteer St Johns side. The football from both sides was of the highest quality throughout. The qualities of determination, bravery, and intelligence alongside wonderful skills, excellent score taking and hard work were on show in abundance throughout this close encounter.

Ballyboden roared into this game with a goal from full forward Dylan Dunleavey in the first five minutes as a result of a wonderful flowing passing move which orginiated from the powerful centre back, Seán Heeran. Boden grew in confidence and built on this score with 2 well taken points from Luke McDwyer and a beauty from John McGinn. Time and time again, Boden cut through the Ballinteer defence with ease and led by 1 – 3 to 0 – 1 after fifteen minutes. Ballinteer crept into the game with a point and then a blaster of a goal from their number 14, Chris Garvan, game on! Points were swapped but Boden pushed on from that setback tagging on a series of points from John McGinn, Aidan Garvey and Dylan Dunleavey.

Boden finished the first half 1 – 8 to 1 – 2.

The foundations for the above scores were built on the outstanding defence from the launch platform of David Ward, Sean Heeran and Matthew Fitzpatrick. The three Boden half back  boys were outstanding throughout the game in their tackling, timing, passing and work rate….time and time again, Ballinteer looked for numbers 5 and 7. Behind them Ruairí Mac Mahúna played a Man of the Match performance following on from a great game versus  Crokes in the Quarter Final round. Killian Kirwan at full back did a master marking job on the Ballinteer number 14 while Daire Lynch in the corner kept the number 13 very quiet. Adam Farrell enhanced his reputation as one of the finest keepers in Dublin at this level with a commanding performance. His kick outs make a mockery of his young years with short and long accurate kicks. One of the unsung heroes of this team  was Jack Daly Kenny at number 12. Jack worked tirelessly in a defensive sweeper role as well as contributing to attack, mopping up and picking out cleaver passes on numerous occasions.

Ballinteer  asked a lot of questions of this Boden Under 16 team in the second half. They pressurised the Boden defence, drove down the middle and in a ten minute spell turned the game on its head with two goals and a point which put the teams level with 12 minutes to go. The Boden response was top class. Powered on by their outstanding duo at midfield, Luke Grady and Captain Kevin Desmond, they lifted the Boden team with superb high catching and relentless forward runs. They linked with Ciaran O Reilly who picked out the mercurial Enda Cashman (who replaced Aidan Garvey after half time) for two lovely scores. Conor Woods replaced Luke Mc Dwyer and Adam Carrigan replaced John McGinn and the boys contributed well to many moves. Ballinteer responded with another point and the inspirational Kevin Desmond put the topping on Boden s response with a great point from distance.

As the referee let play go on towards 34 minutes, Boden soaked up countless attacks and finished with a great save from goalie Adam Farrell  which was passed out via 6 players; the hallmark of this Boden team’s excellent teamwork. James Kinsella, Ciaran McDonald and Evin Cullen didn’t get on the pitch today. These lads have contributed unselfishly in their commitment to the team.

Next up is the Dublin County Under 16 ‘A’ Football Championship  Final versus Whitehall Colmcille, the Under 15 ‘A’  2015 Football Championship Winners ) which is a repeat of the Under 14 Féile Final in 2014. What a prospect!

Ballyboden: Adam Farrell, Daire Lynch, Killian Kirwan, Ruairi Mac Mahúna, David Ward, Sean Heeran, Matthew Fitzpatrick, Luke Grady, Kevin Desmond, Aidan Garvey, Ciarán O Reilly, Enda Cashman, John Mc Ginn, Dylan Dunleavy, Luke Mac Dwyer, Evan Cullen, Jack Daly Kenny, Adam Carrigan,  James Kinsella, Conor Woods, Ciaran MacDonald, Conor Lowe.

Many thanks to John Kirwan for the photos. For more photos, see here