The 2022 Annual Golf Classic reverted to its traditional slot of late May and was held on Friday the 27th of May in Edmondstown Golf Club.

We had 48 teams competing from early morning to dusk in perfect weather conditions for good and competitive golf.

We also secured some new sponsors this year, such as Ardstone Homes, whose support is much appreciated.

As usual, our hosts in Edmondstown gave us a warm welcome and presented us with a Golf Course in pristine condition. With the fine weather and the greens in such great condition, but playing particularly tough, the scoring reverted to the 80’s and 90’s.

Cathal Fitzgerald’s team were first past the post with a winning score of 94 points, with just six points separating the first five teams:

1st Place – 94 Points Cathal Fitzgerald Team
Cathal Fitzgerald, Graham O’Reilly, Jim Boland & Brian Delaney
2nd Place – 93 Points RSA Insurance Team 1
  Seamus McGabhann, Clive Groarke, Pierce Williams & Gavin Fitzpatrick
3rd Place – 91 Points Tom Durkin Team
  Tom Durkin, Tony Harnett, Liam Scally & Dermot Maguire
4th Place – 90 Points   Deane Homes Team
  Liam Deane, Jim Gallagher, Des Browne & Martin Donohoe
5th Place – 89 Points Bookstation Team
  Declan O’Donnell, Frank O’Keeffe, Mike Curtin & Colin Fallon
Front Nine – 45 Points H&K International Team
Back Nine – 47 Points Ray Cosgrove Team
Longest Drive Shane Hogan (Maplewood Homes Team 1)
Nearest the Pin Pat McCabe (Greenoak Construction Team)

The committee, Liam Deane, Sean Moran, John Small, Ned Slattery & Jack Nolan, would like to thank all of those who contributed to making the day such a great success. Particularly to Miriam Doyle, John Small, Ned Slattery and Cathal Regan.

A special mention to Orla Mc Cabe and Liam Carter, who carried out the reception and starter duties diligently and cheerfully all day.

Thanks also to the management and staff of Edmondstown Golf Club and to Costello Catering for looking after us so well with a fantastic meal, which was enjoyed by all.

Most of all we would like to thank the participating teams, Sean Moran of TJ O’Mahony and to our many kind sponsors for their continued support.

Please put Friday the 26th of May in your diary for next years’ event.

Go raibh maith agaibh go léir.

Liam Deane & Jack Nolan.

Full photo album is available here