MFL1:  Ballyboden Minor A 3-14 St Sylvester’s 2-08

Match Report: Connell McGlynn

The Boden boys were on the road last weekend – traveling to the northside against Sylvesters in Malahide, nothing was going to be easy with this top-of-the-table clash on a weekend that was going to separate the men from the boys in Division 1 as both teams were sitting in the league table with similar points.

Syls started the game at a blistering pace and opened the scoring with a goal inside the first minute, and as Boden were wondering how that happened Sylvesters stuck on two more points before Boden even looked like responding. The game was beginning to look like it was lost before the Boden boys got out of the starting blocks but super forward Calum O’Dwyer took control of the forward line and stuck on a goal and four points to get the lads back in the game.  Some excellent scores were exchanged with Kevin Byrne, Dan McCarthy and Mark McGlynn getting on the score sheet and when the half time whistle came only one point separated these two giant sides.

Sylvesters tried to start the second half with even more intensity but the Boden defence were ready for anything coming their way, Jamie Farrell, Damien Gibbons, John Kane, Simon Horgan,  William Hook and Alex Dunne played like a battle-hardened war machine and stood up looking for more after every attack limiting Sylvesters to only two points from frees in the second half.  Scores from Calum O’Dwyer, Alex Young, Ryan Culleton, Mark McGlynn and James Greally stretched Boden’s lead to nine points at the final whistle.

Final score 3-14 to 2-8, a good win for Boden and attention has turned to the next game after a break for the Leaving Cert.  Best of luck to all our lads doing their exams.

Pics: Dave Rusk more here

Foireann:   Conor O’Donnell, Jamie Farrell, Damien Gibbons, John Kane, Simon Horgan, William Hook, Alex Dunne, Daniel McCarthy, Leon Murphy, Alex Young, Dylan Timbs, Mark McGlynn, Callum O’Dwyer, Kevin Byrne, Ryan Culleton, Torna MacGearailt, Darragh Smyth, James Greally, Sean Keary, Conor Butler.