Senior football league v Lucan Sarsfields, 12th Lock on 22 April 2023

Ballyboden St Endas 1 – 11

Lucan Sarsfields 2 – 13

This was never going to be an easy assignment as Lucan were top of the league table and beat Boden comfortably last year. The early exchanges were cagey, but Boden were first on the scoreboard with a Ciarán O’Reilly point on 4 minutes. Lucan squandered a good goal chance when they failed to put the ball into an open goalmouth a minute later, instead hitting the crossbar with a palmed effort. Lucan quickly added two points from play before Ryan O’Dwyer equalised on 10 minutes. Lucan could also have scored a goal on 18 minutes after a defensive mix-up by Boden, but Josh Hayes made a diving save to clear the danger. The home side, however, continued to apply the pressure and added two points before Daire Sweeney converted a free to keep Boden in touch. Lucan added two more points, but things might have been different if efforts by Donagh McCabe and Warren Egan has not hit the woodwork. With five minutes to go to half time, Lucan had a player black-carded and in added time Warren Egan got his name on the score board to leave the half time score at 0 – 4 to 0 – 6 in favour of Lucan.

James Holland scored a point in the first minute of the second half, but Lucan then scored a goal to put them four points ahead. Ciarán O’Reilly got a point back, but Lucan added two more points (1 free). Luke O’Donoghue had a good goal chance saved before Daire Sweeney (free) and Warren Egan added points. Lucan added a point and then, from a defensive mistake in the Boden rear-guard, added a goal to go 7 points ahead. Boden continued to attack, and Daire Sweeney converted two frees, each side of a well taken goal by Alan Flood to bring the deficit back to two points with 10 minutes remaining. However, this was as good as it got as Lucan added four more points with a solitary pointed free from Daire Sweeney for Boden.

TEAM: Josh Kane; Shane Clayton; Leo McHugh; Cathal Flaherty; Kieran Kennedy; Paddy Dunleavy; Josh Hayes; James Holland; Donogh McCabe; Luke O’Donoghue; Ciarán O’Reilly; Darren O’Reilly; Daire Sweeney; Ryan O’Dwyer; Warren Egan. SUBS USED: Alan Flood; Jack Lambert; Eoghan Gannon; Robbie O’Reilly; Conor Hanrahan.