Result: 6-20 to 0-9

Ballyboden St Endas 6 – 20
Ballinteer St Johns 0 – 9

This battle of neighbours turned out to be a very one-sided affair. Playing against a stiff breeze, after
three minutes the home side was three points up following two points from Collie Basquel (one free)
and one from Alan Flood. Ballinteer got one back through a free before Donagh McCabe and
Darragh Nelson added two more. These were cancelled out by the visitors who got two quick points
(one free). Then after 10 minutes the first goal arrived when Darren O’Reilly finished to the net.
Collie Basquel and Alan Flood added points before St Johns converted another free. In the last 10
minutes of the half, Mikey Dunne left his mark on the game with a goal and two points while Sean
Gibbons and Collie Basquel (free) added points. Ballinteer also scored a point during this period to
leave the half time score 2 – 12 to 0 – 5.
Playing against the breeze in the second half was expected to be tough for the visitors and so it
proved, even though they got off to a good start with two quick points in the first two minutes. The
home side then took over and played some excellent football and the scores duly followed. First
Aran Waters popped over a point and then, after a Ballinteer kick out was intercepted, Collie
Basquel passed to Darren O’Reilly who finished the net. Alan Flood, Darragh Nelson and Darren
O’Reilly popped over points before Darren got his hat trick of goals following a pass from Sean
Gibbons. Sean added a point of his own followed by a pointed free by Collie Basquel. Collie then
added a goal following a pass from Darren O’Reilly. Ballinteer got two points back (one free) but the
home side added a further goal from minor player Malachy Codd. He was set up following good
work by his minor colleague Paddy Dunleavy who passed to Conagh McCabe who in turn passed to
Malachy and he made no mistake. Mickey Dunne and Collie Basquel finished the scoring with a point
TEAM: Darragh Gogan; Bob Dwan; Shane Clayton; Cathal Flaherty; Darragh Nelson (0 – 2); Robbie
McDaid; James Holland; Aran Waters (0 – 1); Declan O’Mahony; Darren O’Reilly (3 -1); Collie Basquel
(1 – 6); Donagh McCabe (0 – 1); Mikey Dunne (1 – 3); Sean Gibbons (0 – 2); Alan Flood (0 – 3). SUBS
USED: Brian Bobbett; Cian Murray; Malachy Codd (1 – 0); Paddy Dunleavy.