Result: 2 12 to 0 09

Junior C Championship – An Fear Bog reports

The victory was a while in coming but against all odds Ballyboden earned a sweet victory over neighbours Faughs at a sunny Ballycullen last Sunday. Although performances have been steadily improving over the past number of games nobody could have foreseen such a stunning performance.  Resilience, determination, bravery, forceful are words of description that come to mind. To add further context, Ballyboden played for 50 minutes with 14 men after Evan McDonnell was sent off very early for a sideline altercation.

The foundations for this win were laid down at the back.  From numbers one to seven play was almost to perfection.  It would be unfair to single out any individual but An Fear Bog cannot resist but mention the performance of “new signing” Tomas McAuliffe.  Having recently transferred from a Limerick club called “Fiona” (?) via Australia, McAuliffe had a debut to remember and was a tour de force at number 7.

This game was a tight affair for 50 minutes.  Boden managed to get their noses in front by half time thanks to a rocket of a goal from Brian Cummins.  At the sos Boden held a 4 point lead but with the wind against and down to 14 men things did not look promising.

Throughout the second half both sides traded points but with 10 minutes to go Faughs had cut the lead to 2 points.

It was at this juncture that the whole team stepped up to sail away with a precious championship victory.  Brian Cummins was outstanding at this point and his 2 long range frees gave Boden a comfort blanket of a lead.  Ciaran Toomey and Rob Donoghue tagged on a couple of more points before Cummins sealed it with another exocet to the net.  Next stop O’Tooles, Ballycullen on Tuesday May 14th at 7.15pm.  Be there.

Team: Marc Mac Liam, Brian Kirwan, Cathal Ryan, Gavin Duff, Ger Keating, Sam Lally, Tomas McAuliffe, Rob Donoghue (0-1), Benjamin Hurley, Kevin Dooley,  Cian Corcoran (0-1), Aidan Horgan (0-3), Jonathan O’Donoghue,  Brian Cummins(2-4), Evan McDonnell (0-2).  Subs. Ciaran Toomey (0-1), James Hanrahan, James Kinsella.