Ballyboden St Endas 6:08  Kilmacud Crokes 3:07

Report: Connell McGlynn;  Pics. Dave Rusk  [more here]

The final of all finals, the Ballyboden Boys Minor took to the field in O’Toole Park on Sunday morning with strapped ankles, wrists and knees, all the scars of a hard championship journey – away to Thomas Davis, St Sylvesters and Lucan Sarsfields has left its mark on the squad and the boys would need every bit of that experience to get over reigning minor champions, Kilmacud Crokes.  The Boden boys had lost every encounter in the last five years with the exception of one game in 2019.

The opening exchanges favoured Boden as we started the stronger with points from Mark McGlynn, Callum O’Dwyer, Kevin Byrne and a goal and a point from Paddy Curry.

Crokes did eventually get themselves into the game with some good scores to leave six points between the teams at the break, Boden knew that a six-point advantage was not going to be enough as they would be playing into the wind in the second half, and Crokes knew it as well.

The second half started as predicted with a strong attacking Crokes as they started picking off some good scores with the assistance of the strong wind, the back line was under siege, Fionn Murphy, Damien Gibbons, David Quinlivan, Sean Keary, Liam Dargan and Alex Dunne fought every inch of grass as Crokes pressed harder as Boden were struggling to get out of their own half.

From being six points up at halftime to going four points down with ten minutes to go Boden thought it wasn’t going to be, the crowd did their best to cheer on the lads but it was now an uphill battle against the wind and the Crokes attack just didn’t stop coming until Boden got their first break up the field which resulted in a Mark McGlynn goal, and suddenly Boden were back in the game and the belief was back.   Boden started winning possession in the middle of the park and in the last ten minutes of the game Boden scored five goals from Mark McGlynn, Paddy Curry, Daragh Delaney, Calum O’Dwyer and Alex Young.

From being down four points on the fiftieth minute to winning the game by ten points at the final whistle the Boden boys claimed the biggest prize in Dublin Football by becoming County champions.

Final score Ballyboden 6-8 Kilmacud Crokes 3-7

Foireann: Cillian Murray, Fionn Murphy, William Hook, Liam Dargan, Sean Keary, Damian Gibbons, Alex Dunne, Daragh Smith, Daniel McCarthy, Ryan Culleton, Leon Murphy, Mark McGlynn(1-2), Callum O’Dwyer(1-3), Patrick Curry(1-1), Kevin Byrne(0-1), Conor O’Donnell, Torna MacGearailt, Jamie Farrell, James Rusk, John Keane, David Quinlivan, Alex Young(1-0), Conor Butler, Ryan Culleton, Lee McConnell, Darragh Delaney (1-0), James Greally.