Weekend round up

The build up to the start of the AFL continued last weekend with both the Seniors and Inters in action.

The Seniors faced Templeogue Synge Street out in IT Blanchardstown on a windy but thankfully dry

Saturday morning and took a while to get into their stride with a strong crosswind slightly favouring

the opposition. After a strong showing from TSS in the first half the lads finally found some rhythm

and finished strongly coming out winners by 3 points. It was especially heartening to see the young

lads stepping up to the plate in the absence of the County and injured players.

It was the Inters turn on Sunday evening as they entertained St.Jude’s in Sancta Maria.

With numbers low thanks to young minor player Liam Flaherty who stepped in to help out in a pacy

well contested match. The lads ran out winners by a few points. Well done to those who doubled up

and played both games for the club.

Congrats to our Dublin contingent Michael-Darragh, Declan and Darragh on their victory over

Westmeath by 0-14 to 1-07 in Mullingar on Sunday in the second round of the National League.

Unfortunately the Dublin Minors and our own lads Colm Basquel, Warren Egan, Shane Clayton

and Barra McGarry were pipped by Meath by a single point in their Leinster MFL clash in

Ashbourne on a scoreline of 1-11 to 0-13 despite Warren scoring 0-05 and Barra 0-02.

Adult Football League

The League begins in earnest this Sunday with a mouth-watering Div.1 clash with St.Brigids in PUM at 10.30am.

The Inters and both Junior teams also get underway on Sunday.

See poster below for full details and check website for any changes.


To the players involved in the NADA programme, the contribution of €50 is now due.

Membership – Pay in full or online – see website for full range of options.

Don’t forget to support our players as they venture into the world of ‘Strictly come dancing’ –

Ryan Basquel and dual players, Stephen O’Connor, Ronan Cleary, Tommy McGrath and Naoise Maguire.

In addition, and not to be outdone, is our own committee member, Brendan Timbs.

Finally, in our ‘memory lane’ series of publications see below’s report of the last time Boden

won the football league title in 2003, a timely reminder that another one is overdue!

See if you can recognise a few familiar faces??