On Sunday afternoon our U12 footballers took part in the 1916 Commemorative Blitz in St Enda’s Park. 

First up were St Anne’s in the 3 group match stage and we prevailed with a scoreline of 2-5 to 2-0. In the second game, Templeogue Synge St. narrowly defeated us 1-1 to 0-3 and this then left us having to beat Naomh Olaf to progress to the Cup Final.
In this last match, Boden got off to a very slow start, despite winning the toss and electing to play down the hill and went in at half time down by  1-2 to 0-2. 
In the second half, Boden somehow found a way back into the game and were trailing by a point, with time almost up, when a high ball into our full forward Darragh Brooks was fielded superbly, he turned and struck an bullet of a shot to the back of the net to win the game.

In the Final we played Templeogue Synge St and it was a chance to avenge earlier in the day.
Again we got off to another slow start and at half time trailed 1-2 to 0-2. 
During the half time team talk, the boys were asked to give 15 final minutes of play where there would be no regrets after the match and what a half it turned out to be…
Boden got the opening point to make it a two point game and then Michael Murphy got the all important goal direct from a 45. The lead changed hands a couple more times before Scott Cramer Walsh was switched into full forward and he kicked the winning point for Boden, the final score was 1-5 to 1-4. 

The presentation was then done by our Senior Hurler Niall McMorrow and the trophy was lifted by Boden Captain Oisin Murray to huge roars from the Boden support.
The final award of the day was given out, a 1916 Commemorative jersey for the Boden player of the tournament and this was won by Fionn Keating Mc Dermott  ( who epitomises everything that is good in this U12 football team ) for his effort, his team play and his willingness to put his body on the line during all of the games in this Blitz.

We would like to thank St.Annes, Naomh Olaf and Templeogue Synge St for being our guests and  a big thank you to all the parents and families of the boys for their vociferous support especially when we were behind in our last two games.

The U12 Boys Football Squad was Aaron Farrell, Aodhan O’Reilly, Charlie Redmond Murray, Darragh Brooks, David Rogers, Dylan French, Evan Nugent, Fionn Keating McDermott, Jack Hutchinson, Matthew Gray, Michael Murphy, Myles O’Sullivan, Oisin Murray, Rory Sweeney, Scott Cramer Walsh and Shane Flood

Many thanks to Audrey Cramer and the U12 Mentors for the photos. For more photos, see here