Dhá chúilín idir na foirne sa Chraobh Idirmheánach

 Leamhcán  2 19 Baile Buadáin 2 17

Satharn gnóthach don chlub agus trí fhoireann iomána ag imirt sa chraobh ar an tráthnóna céanna. The Intermediate championship is as competitive as any, and thug Boden faoi Leamhcán ag lorg dhá phointe sa ghrúpa. Sa deireadh thiar, ní raibh ach dhá chúilín idir na foirne but that result means progression from the group is going to be a daunting task.

Thosaigh Boden go maith and by half-time eight different players were on the score sheet. They say goals win games and Boden had at least two good goal chances in the first half which went astray.  Boden failed to capitalise on a strong first half wind to press home the advantage. While Boden had some finely worked team scores, in reply Lucan scored two goals on the counterattack a d’fhág an scór ag leathama: Boden 0-11; Lucan 2-6.

Ag tús an dara leath, Lucan had figured out the Boden puck out, and four points in a row meant things looked ominous. The introduction of Connell McGlynn brought energy and purpose to the Boden attack. Oisín Byrne found the net with two of his signature goals to keep Boden in the hunt. Lucan seemed to get their scores easier and kept the scoreboard ticking over while Boden had a couple of chances to snatch a win in the dying minutes of injury time.

Overall, there were fine performances from Karl Weldon, Mo Ormsby and Josh Corcoran in the backs. Andy Hand was industrious as ever i lár na páirce. Recently married Jason Devery scored three points from play, as did Chris Lambert. Cian Kelly fought hard all through while Oisín Byrne continued a fine season and finished with a personal tally of 2-5.

Before the game, there was a minute’s silence for Aidan Wall RIP, grandfather of Cillian, who togged at left half back. Ar dheis Dé go raibh sé. Aidan was the brother of the princely Tony Wall of Tipperary, who won five All-Ireland medals, six Munster medals and six National Hurling League medals in the 1950s and 1960s.

Laoch na hImeartha: Oisín Byrne


Ronan Sharkey; Ruairi Kirwan, Karl Weldon, Matthew Ormsby, Josh Corcoran, Joe Maguire, Cillian Wall, Andy Hand (0-1), Ciaran Cashman, Jason Devery (0-3), Chris Lambert (0-3), Cian Kelly (0-2), Shane Kennedy (0-2F), Owen Wigglesworth (0-1), Oisín Byrne (2-5; 1F), Ross McCormack, Ruairi Hestor, Seán Bury, Shane Bell, Dan O’ Riordan, Garret Crowley, Des O’ Sullivan, Connell McGlynn, Ben Kelly