Blue skies and the Dublin mountains provided the backdrop to round one of the Minor football league South Round 1 game versus our close neighbours Ballinteer St Johns on Sunday morning. With Declan Maguire leaving to pursue a career in stand-up comedy following the huge success of his match reports last year, it was left to this reporter to take up the reigns.

The Boden men started well with some good passages of play leading to scoring chances, one of which resulted in a penalty that was duly converted by Ciaran Kiely. This was followed up by points by Kiely, Keogh, Smith & McDonald to allow Boden race into an early lead. Ballinteer had a couple of chances prior to their first score, which were duly dealt with by some excellent defending by our full back line.

Oisin Byrne was having a fine game in defence, aided by O Connor, Keating McDermott and Brophy. For the second quarter Johns upped their game and found the net through their impressive centre forward Luke Breathnach. This left the half time score Ballyboden 1-8, Ballinteer St Johns 1-2.

In the third quarter David Keane got a number of scores, but it was Ballinteer who pounced to score 1-3 in a purple patch. Eoin Donne was very unlucky not to get the penalty pushed around the post. Through excellent on pitch leadership from the aforementioned Keane, Lynch, O Sullivan(x2) and McDonald, Boden hauled themselves back into the lead with some great scores and impressive football. The game finished up with some great defensive displays from the likes of Long, Lynch & O Connor getting key turnovers.

For our 2004 guys it was great introduction to Minor A football and a great start to the 2021 campaign. Final Score Ballyboden St Endas 2-15 Ballinteer St Johns 2-7

Thanks to Cliona Mellet for the photos.

Alex Gavin, Barry McGuire, Ciaran Duggan, Ciarán Kiely, Connell McGlynn, Daniel Lynch, David Keogh, David Keane, Eoin Donne, Evan Nugent, Evan Welsh, Fionn Keating MacDermott, Hugh O’Sullivan, Jack O’Connor, Jimmy Meaney, Keelin Smith, Leon Kennedy, Michael McDonald, Oisín Byrne, Ollie Brophy, Robbie O’Reilly, Ronan Long, Scott O’Sullivan Magne, Seán Bury