Boden U10 Hurlers win Feile Iomana in the Knocklyon Tournament and are beaten Finalists in the Rathfarnham Tournament.

A strong showing of U10 hurlers for the Annual Feile Iomana in PUM and Cherryfield on Sunday morning, 24th May brought a hard fought Ballyboden win in the Knocklyon Tournament on the main club pitch, and a battling beaten finalist performance for our lads in the Rathfarnham Tournament on the Cherryfield pitches.

In the ‘Knocklyon’ competition on the club pitch, every game was very tightly contested.  With a fine Faughs side winning each of their group matches, it came down to score difference between Boden, and strong sides from Naomh Jude and last year’s winners Cuala to decide their final opposition, and it was Boden’s strong defensive performances which ensured they would line out against them in the final.    This was a tense affair as the two teams had just gone toe-to-toe in the group stage with Faughs winning out narrowly.  This time though, the Boden lads had the measure of their opposite numbers, and thought there was very little between the teams, very strong performances in every area of the field from Boden ensured a much celebrated win.

Meantime over in Cherryfield in the parallel ‘Rathfarnham’, the Boden lads were imposing themselves on their opposition, winning their group games, to face Faughs in the final.  As winners of this tournament last year, Boden were not about to be toppled easily, and a hard fought battle ensued.  However, despite committed performances from the Boden boys in every area of the pitch, this time it was Faughs who prevailed.   Maybe next time!

Well done to all the boys – their commitment to the cause was unquestionable against strong and skilled opposition throughout.  GRMA to hurlers, parents and mentors from Naomh Jude, Faughs and Cuala for making the trip, and to our own parents for all their support and hospitality on the day.

Knocklyon:  John Keane, Mark Keogh, Gavin Leddy, Nathan Comerford, Dylan Timbs, James Casey, Zach Nolan, Leon Murphy, Daragh Smyth, Rian Meaney, Sean Keary, Zenan Spain, James Rusk, Alex Young, Luke Fitzpatrick, Ryan Culleton, David Quinlivan, Oisin Quinn.

Rathfarnham: Alex Brady, Ryan Fusco, Harry Judge, Conor Reynolds, Matthew McGrath Sean Luz, Charlie O’Connell, Eliot O’Connell Kevin Byrne, Fionn Flanagan, James Archbold, Conor Butlert, Zach Kearney, Louis Kearney,

Under 12 win Feile Iomana Sunday afternoon

“Well done to Bainisteoir Ray Casey and his side-kick, Gavin Duff, on a very successful day of hurling which took place at the Under 12 Feile Iomana on Sunday afternoon, 24th May 2015.

Included in Bodens group were an excellently drilled Faughs outfit, a feisty and skilfull Commercials side and a young Knockavilla Kickhams team from Tipp.

The three round robin matches were tough and tight with the result of the penultimate game of the day leading to a Boden V Commercials Final.

We were very familiar with our opposition ( we had only lost to Commercials days earlier in the league) and the lads duly set about to perform to the best of their abilities.

At half time were two goals up but, as expected, Commercials roared back into it making it a one pointer with 10 minutes to go. 

The lads never dropped their heads and everyone upped their work levels (which was not easy considering they had already played nearly two hours of high tempo hurling.)

A blizzard of scores followed mostly from Boden and as the long whistle blew Boden emerged with the spoils (bumps, bruises and cuts included) . Well done lads.

Many thanks to all parents who contributed on the day.(Special thanks to the ladies who provided the refreshments and to those who lifted the goal posts back !)   

Loathe to name any man of the match due to the nature of such a team result we have to add that fantastic contributions came from Captain David Gannon, Oisin Byrne, Hugh O’Sullivan, Michael McDonald, David Keane, Rhys McDonell  and Conor Casey.

Honourable mention goes to Alex Gavin, Cormac McDonnell, David Keogh, Josh Corcoran, Cian Kelly, Harry Duff, Matthew Ormsby, Cian Mahon, Tom Culleton and Tom Nolan.