U21A football championship final v Ballinteer St Johns on 26 November 2022 in O’Toole Park

Ballyboden St Endas 0 – 6

Ballinteer St Johns 2 – 16

Ballinteer were first to score when they converted a free after three minutes. They quickly added two from play before scoring their first goal with just 9 minutes gone. Nearly 20 minutes had elapsed before Boden got their first score, a converted 45 by Hugh O’Sullivan. Malachy Codd added another point from play but Ballinteer added four more points (3 frees) as halftime approached. Daire Sweeney converted a free in added time to leave the half-time score 0 – 3 to 1 – 7.

Boden had the wind and the hill in the second half but could not take advantage of them as Ballinteer scored their second goal after just two minutes. They had added six points with ease by the 18th minute before Boden got their first point of the second half when Daire Sweeney scored from play on 20 minutes. Ballinteer quickly cancelled this out and both sides added two points each (Daire Sweeney free and Luke Byrne) to leave Ballinteer convincing winners by 16 points.

TEAM: Hugh O’Sullivan; Evan Nugent; Jack Lambert; Eoin Behan; Harry Colclough; Harry Donaghy; Ryan Baynes; Alex Gavin; Michael McDonald; Robbie O’Reilly; John McGuire; Conor Lowe; Daire Sweeney; Ryan O’Dwyer; Malachy Codd. SUBS USED: Rob Cullen; Eoghan Gannon; Luke Byrne; David Keane; Ciarán Kiely.

Thanks to Miriam Christie for photographs. For more photos, click here.

Match report by Paddy Walsh.