Foxrock-Cabinteely 4-8 Ballyboden St Endas 2-6

After a Championship season of excellent football, the Boden U-14A ladies footballers bade farewell to the competition after being beaten in a high quality County semi-final on Sunday, the 8th of October.
Despite losing 4 players to other sports since the Feile, our ladies reached the penultimate stage of the 2017 Championship by beating Kilmacud Crokes and Lucan Sarsfields while also suffering defeat away to Clontarf.
This set up Sundays match which was played in a resplendent Kilgobbet Park, home of the Championship favourites, Foxrock-Cabinteely.
On a perfect day for football, the Boden girls started brightly and had the hosts on the back foot. Goals from Jennifer Hanrahan and Clodagh Delaney as well as points from Jennifers Foley and Hanrahan and Grace O Neill had us leading for most of the half before FoxCab struck for a few scores of their own. At the half time whistle, it was all square with both tallies at 2-3.
The second half was a tight affair with Boden scores coming from Hanrahan and Delaney until injuries to a couple of our key performers gave the advantage to the hosts and they duly pressed home that advantage scoring the last 4 scores to seal their place in the County final.
It has been a decent Championship campaign from our girls with top class commitment from all of them. As mentors, we could not have asked for any more from them and we thank them and wish them the best of luck going forward to the U-16 grade.
A special thank you to the U-13 girls who helped us out during the Championship, Ella, Leonie and Shauna and also huge thanks to Mandy McCabe and her team of FLOs who attended every training session and match without fail. Thanks to the parents who gave lifts and great support to the panel during 2017. Finally, much appreciation to my fellow mentors Colm Bolger and Dave Quinlivan for the guidance, help and comradeship.
Danny O Connell.

Panel : Romy Wardick, Sophie Cullen, Katie Quinlivan, Katie McCabe, Abbey O Farrell, Grace Lawlor, Erin Christie, Anna Kennedy, Holly Bolger, Jennifer Hanrahan, Grace O Neill, Sarah O Connell, Julie Vaughan, Auveen O Neill, Clodagh Delaney, Jennifer Foley, Leah Moran