The Under 21 B team which fell to Thomas Davis .

Back Row L to R : Conor Bolger, Eoin Giles, Ciarán Moore, David Garry, Ronan McGee, Evan Flanagan, Jamie Desmond, Joe Johnston, Darragh Bolger, Eamonn Gorman, Keith Robinson, David NeylAnchoron, Chris Lambert.

Front Row L to R : Alan Cleary, Donal Butler, Kenneth Wigglesworth, Ben McEntee, Eoin McKenna, Fionn Maguire, Conor Dooley, Tommy Doyle, Morgan Ryan.

Ballyboden U21 B hurlers went out of the Championship to neighbours Thomas Davis in the quarter final, played in a breezy Kiltipper, on 16th November 2013.

Playing against with the wind in the first half, Boden had a poor start when a high ball in was caught and fired to the net by the lively Thomas Davis full forward. Boden steadied after that and began to win good ball with Morgan Ryan and Ronan McGee repelling many of the Davis attacks. Donal Butler began to win great ball in the middle of the field, particularly from puckouts and scores from Butler and a couple of Eoin McKenna frees meant Boden had come within touching distance of their opponents. A Fionn Maguire point with a few minutes to go rounded off a good Boden spell, but it was the home side that closed the stronger to leave the half time score at Boden 0-5 to Thomas Davis 1-8.

Pressure situations call for leaders and Boden had just that in wing back Darragh Bolger. Having scored a fine point from distance at the start of the second period, he got on the end of a great ball from Butler, following a determined run through the centre, to raise a green flag – 2 points in it ! At this stage, Boden had the upper hand and with Jamie Desmond intercepting most of Davis’ attacks at centre-back, began to supply the forwards with more chances. Unfortunately, the home defence held firm, with their centre-back putting a stop to most of Boden’s attacks and it was Thomas Davis that hit the next crucial score – a goal from the corner forward after a goalmouth scramble. Boden had introduced some of their substitutes at this stage and despite the best efforts of Keith Robinson, Eoin Giles and Jonathon O’Driscoll and tireless work from Ben McEntee in midfield, could not find the crucial goal to bring them back into the game.  Thomas Davis ran out winners on a scoreline of 3-12 to 1-10.

Well done to the team for a super effort. It was great to see a few players that had not worn the Boden shirt earlier in the year back in action. Well done to Ray McKenna, Mick Keville and Conor McCormack for having the initiative to prepare the team for this championship – a first for Boden & best of luck to Thomas Davis in the rest of the competition.